Clean Reads for Mormon Teenagers discussion

Book Discussions > Do you read Sci-Fi/Fantasy Romance Novels?

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by D.R. (new)

D.R. (woodhawk) Do you read Sci-Fi/Fantasy Romance novels? If so, what do you enjoy about them most from an LDS or Christian perspective? And, if you do not, do you have any strong reasons for not including them in your library? The reason I ask these questions is because I have written one and I believe it can be safely enjoyed by everyone from teenagers to the oldest among us, me included. As a new author, I am faced with how to target my audience or those that may enjoy my writing the most. I have no doubt that there are many and probably most people in the world that will not enjoy it. It is clean but it is intense. There is no sexual content at all, but there are a couple of violent scenes that are not even as violent as we find in the Book of Mormon, or the Bible. There is only one curse word used once, the one used in the movie, “Gone with the Wind”. I would give it a PG rating for the couple of violent scenes described and because it is not for children. The book describes mature subjects that a child would not understand or appreciate. The book also has a strong mystery feel to it.