THE Group for Authors! discussion

Publishing and Promoting > Niche genre advertising

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Chris (new)

Chris Jags | 16 comments Hi all.

I'm a new indie author with no particular publicity skills, so I'm all at sea as far as marketing ideas and could use advice on particularly one thing.

Beginning with the book I just released, I intend to write several novels of a very specific type, which is to say horror tales, only set in fantasy worlds. I suppose they would be considered dark fantasy, but if I am successful in my intentions, will read more like horror.

I'm aware - and fine with - the fact that I will probably never have more than a niche readership. But my question is, while I'm starting out and with the knowledge that I have limited resources, is it better to focus as closely on the niche I perceive to be my potential target audience as I can, or cast as wide a net as possible in the hopes of drawing people who might be peripherally interested into the fold?

Any advice would be invaluable to me. I have tried and will continue to try some of Amazon's programs (free and time-limited discounts) but I don't know if I'm reaching interested people or just people who are grabbing free stuff in bulk. I did get responses from a handful of people in a horror forum here on goodreads who kindly said they had intent to read, which is what made me re-think my approach to advertising.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

message 2: by Amanda (new)

Amanda Lyons (amandamlyons) I recommend doing PR to both horror and fantasy communities in general, but targeting the heavier marketing to the niche genre. My own first release was a gothic horror novel about vampires in the Anne Rice style and was, and still is, quite hard to market in a world where vampires are now either brutal monsters or romantic heartthrobs.