Support for Indie Authors discussion

Writing Process & Programs > Inspiring Teens to write Teen Fiction

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Christopher (new)

Christopher Francis | 7 comments I hope this is the right group to inquire.
I've been working with young adults for several years coaching them how to write young adult/teen fiction novels.
I've always encouraged to think 'small' and build on their understanding of story writing by writing 'short stories' first. That way we can go through the various steps and processes needed in order to confidently develop and piece together a novel.
My concern is, I'm working with 'pretty good' young authors. They have some strong writing skills but are still very 'inexperienced' in their development of what the key fundamentals are in creating a novel, but are also not interested in the 'tiresome', 'disengaging' strategies needed to put together a great story.
I don't want to bore them.
I don't want to push them away from their 'creative spirit'.
I'm looking for engaging ideas that can support these young, enthusiastic, creative minds. Any ideas and resources would be much appreciated.
Chris

message 2: by Dwayne, Head of Lettuce (new)

Dwayne Fry | 4270 comments Mod
A few gut reactions to this:

First, I'm having a hard time knowing how to read this. The quotes around every few words make it seem as if you're trying to be ironic, sarcastic, or you have reservations, yet aside from this, you seem sincere. So, I'm not quite sure how to respond.

Second, (if I'm understanding you) short story writing, in some ways, can be equally challenging as novel writing. In some ways it can actually be more challenging. The story must be tighter, the cast is generally smaller, and there's not a lot of room to expand on secondary plot lines or themes. The only way that I can think that short stories are less challenging is they take far less time to write.