Polls for Our Souls discussion

I Need Recommendations > Middle Grade books for English class

Comments Showing 1-30 of 30 (30 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Demi (new)

Demi Spelbos | 18 comments Hi everyone! I'm an English teacher and I always try to recommend new books to my pupils. However, I've noticed that a lot of the books I recommend are series and some children just don't want to commit to a full series.
Are there any middle grade books you know that you'd recommend for me to use in my classes?
I'm looking for books for children around 11 to 14.

Obviously I already have a bit of a list, but hopefully you guys will give me some new ones to try out. (I always read them before recommending them, since I do have to state any "shocking" subjects that might be present in the book)

(If you do still have an AMAZING middle grade series to recommend to me, I obviously don't mind)

message 2: by Jordan (new)

Jordan (snicketypicket) My little brother, who is eleven years old and a reluctant reader, really enjoyed the book How to Beat the Bully Without Really Trying, as did I. Although it is part of a trilogy, it works perfectly fine as a standalone novel.

message 3: by Melliott (new)

Melliott (goodreadscommelliott) | 419 comments A Long Walk to Water, by Linda Sue Park
Wonderstruck, by Brian Selznick
Kiki Strike, by Kristin Miller (it's a series but you can read the first as a standalone)
Fang Girl, by Helen Keeble
Lots of books by Joan Bauer: Rules of the Road, Hope Was Here, Best Food Forward...
Ella Enchanted, by Margaret Peterson Haddix
The Rithmatist, by Brandon Sanderson

If you change your mind on the series, I have about a dozen that I recommend to middle-schoolers and they love them. But I know what you mean about the difficulty of finding stand-alones.

message 4: by Caroline (last edited Sep 09, 2019 02:52PM) (new)