AMERICAN HISTORICAL NOVELS discussion

Meet Ames Sheldon!

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Rebecca, Champagne Widows, 2021 (new)

Rebecca Rosenberg (rebeccarosenberg) | 270 comments Mod
Don't Put the Boats Away by Ames Sheldon Don't Put the Boats AwayAmes Sheldon

WELCOME AMES SHELDON!

Rebecca: Hello Ames! Thank you for hosting this week! To start, can you please tell us a little about yourself and your novel?

Hello Rebecca! Thank you for inviting me to join this conversation with you and your readers. I’m very excited because my novel Don’t Put the Boats Away was just released at the end of August and I will be giving my first public reading later this week at a new independent bookstore called Storied Owl Books in St. Paul, Minnesota; it was opened in June by a sweet young husband/wife team.

I started as a writer when I was a child, and I’ve continued writing ever since. I worked as a reporter for two small-town newspapers in Minnesota and then I was very lucky to be hired as lead author and associate editor of the monumental reference book Women’s History Sources: A Guide to Archives and Manuscript Collections in the United States. This book was published in the late 1970s when women’s history was a brand-new discipline. Working on Women’s History Sources ignited my passion for studying and writing about the history of women in this country. My first novel Eleanor’s Wars, published in 2015, is a story about a woman who drove an ambulance in the Great War and the impact of her experiences on her and her family during World War II. My new novel Don’t Put the Boats Away, the sequel to Eleanor’s Wars, takes place in the aftermath of WWII. The members of the Sutton family are struggling to rebuild their lives after a tragic loss.

Rebecca: How were you inspired to write Don’t Put the Boats Away?