Mystery/Thriller Reading Friends discussion

Monthly "Reads" > Barry's August

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Barry (new)

Barry (barrypz) | 2940 comments Midnight in Chernobyl: Adam Higginbothem
This is the book that formed the basis of the HBO miniseries on Chernobyl. No question this was an interest to me, I make my living on preventing nuclear disaster, and if one occurred, I would be driving to it, not away, as a matter of employment and expertise. On the one hand, the book gives enough detail on the physics of the accident that a layman can gain an appreciation, and an expert, a very good idea of what occurred. On the other hand, the book explores the influence of the people and personalities involved, as well as the politics of the time and how they played out in the recovery. (A)

Into the Raging Sea: Rachel Slade
Non fiction, this is the story of the loss of the El Faro, and American container ship that pretty much ignored hurricane warnings, and sailed a ship that was degraded to begin with into the eye of the storm. We had used this as a case study at work, being led to the conclusion that the management failures that led to this sinking were not possible in the management culture we had. Having looked at this deeper version of the tale, one can easily see how profit taking and downsizing can lead to a series of bad decisions leading to failure. The Bridge voice recorder from the El Faro was recovered, and the actual transcripts were used in the writing of this book.(A)

Shamed: Linda Castillo
Life among the Amish again, this time with a taken child, a series of vengeful murders, and no clear reason why it happened. (B+)

Dead Man’s Mistress: David Housewright
Good old fashioned mystery where McKenzie tries to solve an art heist, wit a bit of murder thrown in on the side. As always, he makes some friends, and even more so makes enemies. (B+)

A Dangerous Man: Robert Crais