EVERYONE Has Read This but Me - The Catch-Up Book Club discussion

Lolita
This topic is about Lolita
CLASSICS READS > Lolita - Pre-Read

Comments Showing 1-25 of 25 (25 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Catherine (new) - added it

Catherine | 1152 comments Mod
This is the discussion thread for the September 2019 Classics group read Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov.

*Spoilers are not allowed!* Please see the SPOILERS thread for the spoiler discussion.

Who plans to join this read? Will it be your first time or a reread? What's drawing you to this book?

message 2: by Clarissa (new) - added it

Clarissa (clarissalarissa) | 5 comments This is the first time I’ll be reading this book. I have never seen the movie but have always heard about it and remember when it came out...it was taboo. So I’m interested in reading this since I only know vaguely what it is about.

message 3: by Nitz (new) - added it

Nitz | 9 comments This is my first time reading it as well. I had always wanted to read it because it is always talked about as being taboo but didn't really know why until recently. Then I kept putting it off since I am not sure if the theme of the book is considered "acceptable" in the novel. But I am going to give it a try as the BOTM and see how that goes.

message 4: by NancyJ (last edited Sep 03, 2019 05:05PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

NancyJ (nancyjjj) | 536 comments I found this at an outdoor book sale when I was around 14-15 years old. I knew it was racy, but the concept wasn't as shocking as it might be to a 14 year old today. In my generation, Manhattan was a hit movie, even though the lead character was dating a teenager in the film. (A few years later, our awareness changed and Woody Allen was vilified for another relationship.)

I thought the book was incredible. It was more about obsession than sex I believe. I don't remember it as being explicit at all.