Literary Award Winners Fiction Book Club discussion

Humboldt's Gift
This topic is about Humboldt's Gift
Past Reads > Humboldt's Gift by Saul Bellow, pages 1 - 237

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

George (georgejazz) | 480 comments Mod
Please comment here on Humboldt's Gift, (1976 Pulitzer Prize Winner) pages 1 to 237.

message 2: by Reta (new) - added it

Reta (rrwhite) So I must admit I’m having a VERY difficult time getting through this book. This is my first time reading Bellows, and although I realize he is a renowned laureate and author, his stylistic choices in this book make it difficult for me to focus. I realize that this was probably a purposeful choice, BUT the staccato listing of descriptors line over line and the relentless pacing with very few breaks in the overall text is extremely frustrating. Again the choice may be meaningful (I assume it represents the brutal pace of life itself? Or Citrine’s view of life?) but it makes for a very challenging read. It doesn’t help that (so far) I find nothing likable or redeemable in the characters at this point. I’m about 100 pages in, but it may take me longer than a month to get through it! I’m curious how others feel about the authors style choices?

My book has four black diamond marks to break up the paragraphs every so often. Chapter headings would have been helpful. I am okay with the pacing. The plot moves along in a very unpredictable way with lots of little surprises.

I have read half the book and am finding it a very entertaining, humorous read.
Charlie Citrine is an oddball character with good and bad personality traits. There are many funny moments. I enjoy how he pokes fun at mobster, Rinaldo Cantabile, lawyers and businessmen. I find his comments on Chicago to be quite interesting. Citrine is trying to make sense of his life. What makes him happy? He certainly has a fear of dying.

Here are a couple of examples of lines that amused me: