Books2Movies Club discussion

Hidden Figures
This topic is about Hidden Figures
Monthly Reads > Hidden Figures - book and movie

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Zeljka (ztook) | 2879 comments Mod
When I first saw a trailer for Hidden Figures (2016), then learned that is based on a real life story, written by Margot Lee Shetterly, I realized there are so many amazing stories in the history of the world we don't know a thing about simply because they weren't deemed interesting enough. It is kind of sad that only now we are aware of the role of these women in the space race we witnessed last century.
I hope we'll learn a lot from this book and the movie! As usual, you are welcome to share with all of us your impressions and insights :)

Betsy | 20 comments I was quite impressed with the book and movie. Since I'm not good at math, it was amazing that these women had to fight so hard to take their rightful places in the scientific world. The acting was exceptional for the movie. The scene when she had to run across the parking lot to use the bathroom was quite telling about the bigotry that existed.

message 3: by Powder River Rose (last edited Sep 29, 2019 11:35AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Powder River Rose (powderriverrose) | 40 comments I was very impressed with the book and was unpleasantly surprised at the differences in the West and East coast in this race to space. I first listened to Rise of the Rocket Girls: The Women Who Propelled Us, from Missiles to the Moon to Mars Rise of the Rocket Girls The Women Who Propelled Us, from Missiles to the Moon to Mars by Nathalia Holt by Nathalia Holt Nathalia Holt and was fascinated by the history and dedication of these women. Then I heard of and listened to Hidden Figures which also was filled with history and dedicated women but they were treated unjustly even by other women.