The Evolution of Science Fiction discussion

We Are Legion (We Are Bob) (Bobiverse, #1)
This topic is about We Are Legion (We Are Bob)
Group Reads 2019 > Sept. 2019: We Are Legion by Dennis E. Taylor

Comments Showing 1-46 of 46 (46 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Cheryl (cherylllr) September's poll winner is We Are Legion (We Are Bob) (Bobiverse, #1) by Dennis E. Taylor from 2016.

Interesting tidbits on Dennis E. Taylor's author page.
I know some people like to know when there's something going on w/ a writer that might reveal depths, allusions, what-have-you, in their work.....

So what's to be made of this:

Member Since December 2014

"I am a retired computer programmer, an enthusiastic snowboarder, and an inveterate science fiction reader.

And, apparently, an author now. Did not see that coming."

Well, there is Outland by Dennis E. Taylor , but even that was published in 2015. Is Taylor being disingenuous?

message 2: by Peter (last edited Aug 31, 2019 01:04PM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Peter Tillman | 546 comments Heh. Well, I'm ahead of the curve here:
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...
Sadly, I didn't much care for it. Minority opinion, to be sure. I do point out some predecessor works (such as Niven's corpsicles), and will be interested to see what other predecessors the group comes up with.

message 3: by Jim (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jim (jimmaclachlan) | 4026 comments Mod
I like the comparison to Larry Niven, Peter. Taylor tells stories in a similar way - a lot of big ideas in a really moving story. I have to agree that Bob isn't Beowulf Schaefer or Gil Hamilton, but I like him. His role is more that of Brennan, but he starts out nicer & is never as ruthless. I agree that if you don't like Bob (view spoiler) then the story won't be nearly as engaging.