The Brontes discussion

What to read next?

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by [deleted user] (new)

Hi. I'm new to Goodreads and was delighted to find your group. I've read Jane Eyre (a few times, actually). It's one of my favorite books, and each time I read it, I see something new. I've also read Wuthering Heights, which I didn't like as much. I was thinking of reading either The Tenant of Wildfell Hall or Villette next. Any suggestions?

Captain Sir Roddy, R.N. (Ret.) (captain_sir_roddy) Kathleen wrote: "Hi. I'm new to Goodreads and was delighted to find your group. I've read Jane Eyre (a few times, actually). It's one of my favorite books, and each time I read it, I see something new. I've also re..."

Kathleen, both Anne Bronte's The Tenant of Wildlfell Hall and Charlotte's Villette are terrific novels. Of the two, I just loved Tenant, and I think it had such an important message for women (and still does). Plus you'll be able to experience the writing of Anne Bronte too; who is, in my opinion, terribly underrated as a novelist. Finally, all three sisters wrote some wonderful poetry (Emily's might be the best overall). Happy reading! Cheers! Chris

toria (vikz writes) (victoriavikzwrites) I would add that Agnes Grey is a good read. Anne is my favourite Bronte. She has a modern feel.

message 4: by [deleted user] (new)

Thanks to both of you.

message 5: by Iamee (new)