Eliza and Her Monsters Eliza and Her Monsters discussion

Let's talk about Eliza and mental illness among teens-adults

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

SpiderQueen I have just a handful of pages left in this book. I just want to take a quick break from it to bring up some questions that I feel will be good for discussion seeings as this book hits on topics that teenagers deal with on a daily basis, I mean I graduated 9 years ago in 2010 and even I relate to so much of what Eliza goes through because I was much like Eliza when I was a 16-17 year old high school student as I'm sure several of you were also.

Okay so without further ado

1. Do you feel that Eliza's "Monstrous Sea" helps her with her depression because it allows her to escape her reality OR do you feel that it unknowingly to her pulls her deeper into the depression because of the amount of pressure she's under to finish the pages/chapters by a certain day to keep her fans happy? Why/Why not? What are some other opinions you have on this?

2. When Eliza started Monstrous Sea it was a hobby, but that hobby has now turned into a full time job for a young 17 year old girl. Do you feel that Eliza loses her love of the webcomic or do you feel she loves it still however is just stressed out by it? Eliza & Wallace often talked about doing what you love and many times the phrase "whats the point of doing something if you don't love it?" which is around the time Eliza starts to focus more on how her reality may not be all that bad and she actually gets behind in her webcomic then gets extremely stressed out when she disappointed her fans with the one page that was published a few hours later than usual. How do you feel about the fans reactions to her late submission?