Horror Aficionados discussion

The Hunchback of Notre-Dame
This topic is about The Hunchback of Notre-Dame
Off Topic > Notre Dame de Paris

Comments Showing 1-32 of 32 (32 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Perry (new)

Perry Lake | 301 comments All fans of horror will mourn the destruction of the great edifice of Notre Dame, home of the hunchback, Quasimodo.

I always wanted to visit this magnificent historical monument. *sigh*

message 2: by Lena (new)

Lena | 2359 comments It hurt to see that.

message 3: by J. (new)

J. Gowin | 1388 comments Back in the fall of 1995, I was a freshman at Pitt. My elective course was History of Architecture. The professor was a huge fan of Gothic, so we spent a week and a half studying cathedrals like Chartes and Notre Dame du Paris. People think that Gothic is about darkness, but everything in those cathedrals is designed to increase the amount of light. Ever since then, I have wanted to stand inside Notre Dame and watch the the sun light up those stained glass windows.

Her foundations were begun in 1163, just 97 years after the conquest of England by William the Bastard. She was completed in 1345. She survived constant wars, the Papal Schism, the Protestant Reformation, the Terror, the Paris Gun, and the Nazis. Now she has been gutted by some careless accident.

I ache.

WendyB  | 2806 comments Mod
Ekel, I don't like seeing your post. This isn't about nationalities, it's about history being lost.

message 5: by Lena (new)

Lena | 2359 comments Ekel wrote: "However, I am calmed to hear human lives were lost in this tragedy."

You mean no lives right? Or at least that’s true so far, I heard there were 400 firefighters trying to save it.

Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin | 2253 comments This is too sad 😕

message 7: by Melanie (new)

Melanie | 1656 comments My thoughts are with all those who are feeling the loss of this tragedy, and I'm sending all my Aroha to you from Christchurch New Zealand.