Literary Fiction by People of Color discussion

book discussions > Discussion: Washington Black

Comments Showing 1-50 of 76 (76 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by ColumbusReads (new)

ColumbusReads (coltrane01) | 3677 comments Mod
Hello all!

Our May discussion book is the highly-touted Washington Black by Esi Edugyan. This Canadians third novel has already won the Scotiabank Giller Prize, and was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize among others..

We are pleased to have group member, Ella, to lead our May discussion this month. Ella, I will yield the floor to you!

message 2: by Ella (new)

Ella (ellamc) | 219 comments Hi Everyone!

I am your fearful leader, apparently. Be gentle, please - I've never done this before. We still have a couple of weeks before this one begins, but I'd be mighty grateful if anyone has any brilliant ideas on how to divide it up.

Who else has read this wonderful book? Thoughts on breaking it down into good chunks are most welcome!

See you in May!

message 3: by William (new)

William (be2lieve) | 1232 comments Mod
Wow..here in DC all 55 copies are chked out and the reserve line is over 120 long..A very popular book. get your library request in soon.

message 4: by ColumbusReads (new)

Part 1 Faith Plantation, Barbados
Part 2 Adrift
Part 3 Nova Scotia

Ella, I see the third section, Nova Scotia, is by far the longest. The first two are rather short. Maybe consider that if you intend to break it up in parts. Possibly?

This is one book I’ve been anxious to get to since its release. Starting it today.

message 5: by Ella (new)

Ella (ellamc) | 219 comments You're correct, Columbus, and a LOT of people (at least in GR reviews) seem to feel the book slows down and is not as wonderful as it gets closer to the end. (I feel differently, but I'll wait to discuss that.) It might be a good idea to at least break it into two sections. The first couple skip right along at a very fast pace.