Paranormal Romance & Urban Fantasy discussion

158 views
Paranormal Romance > slow burn

Comments Showing 1-18 of 18 (18 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Eliza (new)

Eliza | 39 comments I'm not looking for the typical "you annoy me, but I want to bang you" type book, but I am looking for two people who truly do not like each other AT ALL- and seriously fight the attraction that's building between them.


I find these types of troupes bring out the BEST kind of tension and buildup, which is my favorite! No insta-love - just two people who are really confused as to why they are attracted to someone they should hate.

Vampire, werewolves etc....anything can apply! I'll read it all :)


message 2: by Chelsey (last edited Apr 13, 2019 03:58PM) (new)

Chelsey | 10 comments I think Ilona Andrews does a good job with the whole 'slow burn' romance. Both her Kate Daniels series and Hidden Legacy series are very good in my opinion.


message 3: by Sidra (new)

Sidra Umair | 15 comments The iron butterfly by Chanda Hahn


message 4: by Sidra (new)

Sidra Umair | 15 comments The dragonian series by Adrienne woods.


message 5: by Cozen (last edited Apr 14, 2019 06:27PM) (new)

Cozen | 458 comments Dark Skye (Immortals After Dark, #15) by Kresley Cole Dark Skye

They start out as childhood friend but his family kills her parents so she commands him to fall out of a window without using his wings, thus crippling him for life. It’s a part of Kresley Cole’s Immortals After Dark series. The books can be read by themselves, they all have a beginning, middle and and ending, but you might look into reading the whole series first. They also should be available at your local library.


message 6: by Cozen (new)

Cozen | 458 comments Cozen wrote: "Dark Skye (Immortals After Dark, #15) by Kresley ColeDark Skye

They start out as childhood friend but his family kills her parents so she commands him to fall out of a window without using his wings, thu..."


And it looks as though you already started on her series once with A Hunger Like No Other (Immortals After Dark, #2) by Kresley Cole A Hunger Like No Other. I’d follow that one up with Wicked Deeds on a Winter's Night (Immortals After Dark, #4) by Kresley Cole Wicked Deeds on a Winter's Night. It’s one of the best books of that series.


message 7: by ☆Eiko (new)

☆Eiko (sillytachi) | 15 comments Oh, I definitely recommend mostly all of Mariana Zapata's books, it doesn't matter what order either. I'm not a big sports person, and I was honestly put off by the idea of a sports romance, but Zapata pulls it off wonderfully because the sport doesn't take over the plot as much, it's mostly used as an excuse for the protagonists to be at each others throats. But she doesn't just do sports, she also delves into music ( Rhythm, Chord and Malykhin), ice skating ( With Love, from Lyukov), tattoo artist (Under Locke). The dialogue between the characters is amazingly funny, and the heroines relatable at times. Highly recommended this author of you haven't tried her books already.


message 8: by Paula (new)

Paula | 7 comments Definitely Ilona Andrew's books.


message 9: by Sophie (last edited Aug 13, 2019 02:15AM) (new)

Sophie (romeowyn) | 32 comments ☆Eiko wrote: "Oh, I definitely recommend mostly all of Mariana Zapata's books, it doesn't matter what order either. I'm not a big sports person, and I was honestly put off by the idea of a sports romance, but Za..."

Seconded. The Wall of Winnipeg and Me is both hilarious and a very good slow burn.
I also recommend the beautiful series by Marie Rutkoski The Winner's Curse (The Winner's Trilogy, #1) by Marie Rutkoski


kittykat AKA Jo Tortitude | 380 comments Magic to the Bone (Allie Beckstrom, #1) by Devon Monk This UF series has a slow burn which I enjoyed.


message 11: by Annette (new)

Annette Miller | 13 comments Check out the Mallory series by Johanna Lindsey. It's a historical romance series but it's fun, sexy, and I believe it has the tension you're looking for.


message 12: by BJ (last edited Aug 16, 2019 04:15AM) (new)

BJ (barbararhodes) | 46 comments Moon Called if you like slow burn and shifters with a difference, this series is awesome. A favourite author for me, the romantic times are discrete and best of all a lot of books in the series. Bliss!


message 13: by Kat (new)

Kat (katwiththehat) | 12 comments Definitely Ilona Andrews and Patricia Briggs.

Also I liked "Sin and Chocolate" by KF Breene, which got steamy in the second and third books of the series, but took time to heat up.

Chicagoland Vampires... I'm several books in and LOL, it's awesome, but it seems like it's taking forever for the two characters I want to hook up to get there :)


message 14: by Esther (new)

Esther Rabbit | 16 comments Hi there, I’m Esther and I write stories with a dash of magic & a little pizzazz in the mix. Check out Lost in Amber if you enjoy girl power, superpowers & a toe-curling love story: https://www.amazon.com/Lost-Amber-Wor...

Blurb:

She just wanted to mope over her breakup, but the universe had other plans for Zoey Mills.

Twenty-four year old Zoey is at that particular point in her life when everything seems to be going sideways. Over the course of one week her boyfriend breaks up with her and she finds out she’s been genetically altered with enhancements foreign to her world.

Jasper’s first earthbound mission seemed simple enough: clean up the mess the former Interplanetary ambassador left behind, retrieve the altered survivors and capture the scientist who went rogue.

Meeting her changed and challenged everything he’d ever known.

Recommended for: Fans of Paranormal Romance and readers who enjoy light Sci-Fi and adventure stories with a healthy dose of witty humor and romance. Perfect for fans of Jennifer L. Armentrout and Cassandra Clare.


message 15: by P.C. (new)

P.C. Benson | 8 comments Hi, check mine out! It's slow/medium burn. https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/4...


message 16: by Cozen (last edited Nov 07, 2019 05:58PM) (new)

Cozen | 458 comments Esther wrote: "Hi there, I’m Esther and I write stories with a dash of magic & a little pizzazz in the mix. Check out Lost in Amber if you enjoy girl power, superpowers & a toe-curling love story: https://www.ama..."

Please read the rules on promoting personal works.

https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/...


message 17: by Cozen (new)

Cozen | 458 comments P.C. wrote: "Hi, check mine out! It's slow/medium burn. https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/4..."

Again read the rules on promoting personal works.

https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/...


message 18: by Esther (new)

Esther Rabbit | 16 comments Cozen wrote: "P.C. wrote: "Hi, check mine out! It's slow/medium burn. https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/4..."

Again read the rules on promoting personal works.

https://www..."


Hi there! Thank you for letting me know. I have interviewed and promoted authors in this group as well as started several discussions (I checked my comments and contribution section), so it hasn't been all "spamming"

If there's anything else you'd like me to contribute on, I'd be very happy to :)


back to top