Ancient & Medieval Historical Fiction discussion

Looking For a Book About.. > Historical Action Epics Like Braveheart or Gladiator

Comments Showing 1-31 of 31 (31 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jared (last edited Apr 09, 2019 10:27AM) (new)

Jared Pahl | 2 comments I'm brand new to Goodreads, and I am incredibly ignorant about which novels are popular or good. However, I am deeply in love with movies. One genre I love is the historical action epic (My favorites are Braveheart, Gladiator, Kingdom of Heaven, Troy, and The Last Samurai). I was wondering what books are out there that capture the spirit of these historical epics. Heroes, battles, intrigue, romance. Generally action-oriented (swords, blood, gore) and epic. Any location, any ancient time period. I'm most interested in the really popular stuff, but more obscure choices are cool too.

Any recommendations?

message 2: by Jerry (last edited Apr 09, 2019 11:39PM) (new)

Jerry Bennett | 146 comments Jared wrote: "I'm brand new to Goodreads, and I am incredibly ignorant about which novels are popular or good. However, I am deeply in love with movies. One genre I love is the historical action epic (My favorit..."

You won’t be short of material Jared. Some of the ‘series’of books will surely meet your ‘epic’ category. Just choose your era.

For the Greek/Persian/Alexandrian era, try Christian Cameron.
Romans - Harry Sidebottom, Ben Kane, Simon Scarrow, Douglas Jackson, and many others.
Saxons/Vikings - Bernard Cornwell , Giles Kristian, Matthew Herffey.
Medieval - Robyn Young, Nigel Tranter (from an earlier era).
Tudors and later - Too many to list!

And that’s only scratching the surface.

Authors-wise, Bernard Cornwall could be a good starting point. He has his own discussion section within this group and his eras range from Viking to Medieval, the Peninsular War and the American Civil War. He is easy to read as well.