Pet Sematary Pet Sematary question

New to King!
Samantha Pron Samantha Apr 09, 2019 09:20AM
I am somewhat new to reading Stephen King, although I've grown up watching his movies. I started off by reading The Stand, then went on to Carrie, and The Shining. I know that IT is pretty lengthy (although I am not shy to long books... currently reading a 900plus book) and Pet Sematary seems frightening to me. Which should I try next? IT or Pet Sematary? Worth the read?

Vanessa (last edited May 17, 2019 07:47AM ) May 17, 2019 07:47AM   0 votes
I am also a new reader for Stephen King's books and my first book was Pet Sematary. It made me fall in love with this author! In my opinion, Pet Sematary would be an excellent choice.

Personally, I would say Pet Sematary is darker in tone than IT, and the more frightening of the two, but both are well worth reading.

Some of my favourite King books are:
Salem's Lot - scared the life out of me.
Lisey's Story - measured pace and more intriguing than horrifying.
Duma Key - a creepy horrorfest.

Enjoy!

Ella Craig No problem, happy reading!
Apr 11, 2019 11:00PM
FY Here's vouching for Duma Keys. It's quite creepy! ...more
May 17, 2020 01:47AM

I am an avid Stephen King fan, as is my mom. You can't go wrong by reading anything by King. I will say, my mom has read everything he has written to date (besides a book about writing) and has said Salem's Lot is the only book that scared her. I haven't read Salem's Lot (yet!), but the only book to scare me was It. Even though I had watched the miniseries from the 90's, It gave me disturbing nightmares the entire time I read it.

Samantha wrote: "I am somewhat new to reading Stephen King, although I've grown up watching his movies. I started off by reading The Stand, then went on to Carrie, and The Shining. I know that IT is pretty lengthy ..."

Definitely Pet Semetary over IT.

Melissa (last edited May 18, 2019 04:27PM ) May 18, 2019 04:26PM   0 votes