The Catholic Book Club discussion

Autobio of St. Anthony Claret > 5. Suppression of the Church in Spain

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by John (new)

John Seymour | 1807 comments Mod
5. St. Anthony Mary Claret began his vocation during a time of suppression of the Church in Spain and yet met with great success. Does God always raise up great saints for difficult times? Should we expect the same now?

message 2: by Steven R. (new)

Steven R. McEvoy (srmcevoy) | 64 comments I would say yes to both of your questions. Saints do often rise up during the difficult times. And As both Saint John Paul II and Pope Benedict XVI often reminded young people, 'Do not be afraid to be saints'. We should all be striving to grow as saints. This is a prayer I have been prauing for 2 years now:
"O Jesus, meek and humble of heart, make my heart like unto thine. From the desire to be esteemed, deliver me. From the desire to be honored, deliver me. From the desire to be praised, deliver me. Teach me to accept humiliation, contempt, rebukes, being slandered, being ignored, being insulted, being wronged, and being belittled. Jesus, grant me the grace that others be admired more than I; that others be praised and I unnoticed; that others be preferred to me in everything; that others be holier than I, provided I become as holy as I should; that I might imitate the patience and obedience of Your mother, Mary. Amen."

message 3: by Manuel (last edited Apr 04, 2019 08:24AM) (new)

Manuel Alfonseca | 1381 comments Mod
I would say that the Church was not suppressed in Spain during those years of the nineteenth century. What happened was the following: