Reading 1001 discussion

Ficciones
This topic is about Ficciones
1001 book reviews > Ficcionnes by Jorge Luis Borges

Comments Showing 1-4 of 4 (4 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Dree | 243 comments Somehow I have never read Borges, perhaps because I studied French, Italian, and history in school. And everyone I knew who studied Spanish read him and dreaded it. I actually found this very interesting--but I can only imagine how difficult it would be for a student of Spanish reading the original.

I found these stories to be very interesting. They are also intense and not easy reading. Strange, unpredictable, and uncomfortable. They read more like essays than short stories, but they are very much fiction. How to describe Borges? An original, who I suspect influenced both Calvino and Mieville.

My favorite of the bunch is "The Garden of Forking Paths". I wonder if this story influenced Kate Atkinson in writing Life after Life.

message 2: by Leni (last edited Apr 01, 2019 02:28AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Leni Iversen (leniverse) | 411 comments I really enjoyed this strange collection of stories where Borges blends both well known and obscure names from history and philosophy with thinkers of his own making, and where he writes academic essays about books that don't exist. I am sure that I will return to this book to re-read selected pieces in the future. I agree with Dree that he must have influenced Calvino. In fact, if anyone were to write the full stories that Borges pretends already exist, it would almost have to be Calvino.

I rated this 5 stars, rounded up from 4,5.

Kristel (kristelh) | 3829 comments Mod
Read 2013