The Sword and Laser discussion

If you were a high school English teacher what would be the first book you would make your students read?

Comments Showing 1-38 of 38 (38 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Christos (new)

Christos | 60 comments I would make them read Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson. I think it will keep their interest and make them think about new topics they never thought about before.

message 2: by Phillip (new)

Phillip Murrell | 85 comments I'd let the students pick. Forcing anything leads to resistance.

message 3: by Melanie (last edited Jan 31, 2019 03:53AM) (new)

Melanie | 39 comments I am a high school English teacher, and I agree with Phillip. I have students choose 2 books each marking period to read independently and work with the librarian to keep the school’s collection up to date and engaging.

In the beginning of the year, it’s best to start with shorter fictions (to wake students up from their summer slumbers). And of course it’s important to expose students to classics and cannon works. For instance in grade 9 we read the Odyssey and Romeo and Juliet.

message 4: by John (Nevets) (new)

John (Nevets) Nevets (Nevets) | 1020 comments That was about 25 years ago since I was there, so I’m sure things have changed, but I always thought that having some of both worked well. I enjoyed having the whole class discussions on some books, and also being able to choose occasionally as well.

To the actual question, if it wasn’t already in the Jr. High curriculum, I’d go with To Kill a Mockingbird. So good, and starts the conversation on so many important issues.

If we are only talking sci-fi or fantasy, I think I’d still stick with some of the mid century classics of 1984, or Animal Farm. Once again the group discussions on these are very important. And with the politicized news today, both seem very relevant to teaching kids how to approach media, and public figures in general.

message 5: by Trike (new)