Aussie Readers discussion

Small Town Kid
This topic is about Small Town Kid
Our Authors Spotlight > Small Town Kid - Frank Prem

Comments Showing 1-50 of 89 (89 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Frank (new) - added it

Frank Prem (frankprem) | 150 comments Hello.

I'm a newly minted author, having just managed to list my new offering - Small Town Kid - on Amazon in its e-book format.

I identify myself as a poet, but I'm really a storyteller who uses free verse as my main medium.

Small Town Kid is a memoir of growing up in a small and rural town in the 1960s and 70s in Australia (Beechworth in Victoria). I wrote the collection when I realised fairly suddenly that the stories I told my children about my own growing up were received as myths or legends (or fibs). The world had changed that dramatically in the space of a generations.

I wanted to bring back to mind the days of rabbiting and walking to school alone and having cracker nights on November the 5th.

Also a little of the experience of migrants from those times in their new settings.

Today, I am again resident in the little town, and transitioning from being a psychiatric nurse who writes, into an author who publishes. After a forty year apprenticeship as a poet,I'm ready to go forward as a journeyman, and I expect to be doing quite a bit of work in the public domain.

Thanks for having me here. It's a genuine delight to offer Small Town Kid to the world and readers here.

message 2: by Deborah (new)

Deborah Ideiosepius | 1861 comments Thank you for the biopic Frank, it sounds interesting.

message 3: by Frank (new) - added it

Frank Prem (frankprem) | 150 comments Deborah wrote: "Thank you for the biopic Frank, it sounds interesting."

Hi Deborah. Thank you. It's a pleasure to be here.

message 4: by Rita (new)

Rita Chapman | 141 comments Congratulations on publishing your first book, Frank. Good luck with it.

message 5: by Frank (new) - added it