Beta / Proof Readers discussion

Beta Readers > My beta reader is "correcting" my manuscript

Comments Showing 1-17 of 17 (17 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Catherine (new)

Catherine Harry | 3 comments I'm a new writer; just finished my first book. I sent it to five beta readers a few weeks ago, and I'm awaiting their feedback. My problem is I feel like one of my beta readers is crossing the line. I sent him a list of questions, but it seems like he ignored it because he keeps repeatedly telling me that he will send me the "corrections" and feedback. Now I might be overreacting, but does being a beta reader mean that you also "correct" someone's work? I'm very new at this, so I have no idea what to think. I welcome feedback and comments, but when he phrased it like that, I feel somewhat like my work is being violated. I'd like to think that I'm not reacting this way because I don't handle criticisms well, but I don't seem to have this problem with my other beta readers.

Now I haven't seen his corrections, but from what he told me, he has corrected the tone that my characters used because he felt like they were Southern American or Europe or something along that line. I have no idea what's going on. Is this normal? What should I tell him? Or should I just quench my frustration and see his final feedback?

message 2: by Rebecka (new)

Rebecka Sheehan | 5 comments My beta readers will a lot of times comment phrases or sentences they may find are written weirdly. And offer samples that they seem might fit better. They shouldn’t go in and change your story to their liking. If your character sounds a certain nationality which you beta reader doesn’t like, he has all the right to feel that way but no right to change it or force you to change it.
The right thing for him is to offer you suggestions of what “he might have done” or what he would do differently.