Play Book Tag discussion

Archive: Other Books > The Traitors Wife 2 1/2 generous stars

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Joanne (new)

Joanne (joabroda1) | 7862 comments The Traitor's Wife: The Woman Behind Benedict Arnold and the Plan to Betray America 2 1/2 generous stars(rounded to 3 on my shelf)

Historical Fiction? More like Historical Fluff-disappointing. I have read about these events a number of times to know that what is told in this tale is a pile of dung!

I am not an expert, by any means, on any history, but I am a self-proclaimed history(I will use the word of the month-) Geek. And this book left me befuddled and bewildered.

The story is told through the eyes of the maid of Miss Peggy Shippen
(who eventually marries Arnold), a Philadelphia beauty who is the darling of the English Army and the paramour of John Andre the man who would eventually turn Benedict Arnold into the re known Traitor of the Colonies.

I loved Clara Bell (the maid) and her story- if this had been the only fictional piece in the book I probably would have loved it.

Peggy Shippen was portrayed in so many different lights it was hard to wrap your head around it. In one chapter she is the astute, conniving wench she truly was-in the next breath she was pouty, prone to childish tantrums. Shippen was not the only character that seemed to jump personalities like The Three Faces Of Eve!!!!

This was Allison Pataki first book, which is why I am giving her a little leeway. I think she was on the right track(with her background, I am again befuddled. What happened? An over-zealous editor/publisher perhaps). I am going to give her another chance and see if lessons were learned from this poor first attempt!

Give me HISTORY-not-FLUFF or call it what is-Fiction

message 2: by Jgrace (new)