Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

Policies & Practices > Audio TV Episodes Shelved as Audio Books

Comments Showing 1-38 of 38 (38 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Shomeret (new)

Shomeret | 26 comments I've discovered that Audio Robin Hood TV episodes on CD produced by Big Finish Productions are being shelved as audio books. The Doctor Who audio TV episodes from Big Finish have Not A Book in the description. The Robin Hood episodes don't. Should the members who are shelving these as audiobooks be contacted before they are NABed? I'm a fairly new librarian, so I'm not sure how to proceed.

message 2: by rivka, Librarian Moderator (new)

rivka | 41686 comments Mod
Link to an example, please?

message 3: by Shomeret (new)

Shomeret | 26 comments rivka wrote: "Link to an example, please?"

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/64...

The description says that the binding is unknown. This is only one of the Robin Hood audio episodes. The narrators are actors from the current BBC Robin Hood series.

Big Finish does Stargate audio episodes as well and I found that these are being described as audiobooks.

I happen to know that they are audio episodes from TV series because I have purchased a few myself from Big Finish. I don't shelve them on Goodreads because it would be like shelving my TV series DVDs.

Shomeret

message 4: by Michael (new)

Michael | 6 comments I've been buying from Big Finish for about 10 years. All their output is original material and has never been broadcast on tv. The Doctor Who audios are full cast audio plays. The Robin Hood audios are one hour stories read by one of the actors. They are listed on the Big Finish website as audio books. The one you list is read by Jonas Armstrong and is meant to take place between series two and three. It is not a tv episode but a story designed to tie-in with the tv series.

message 5: by rivka, Librarian Moderator (new)