School Librarians & Teachers discussion

MIKE LUPICA

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by John (new)

John | 10 comments I am a male literature teacher, and I constantly struggle to help male students find books that they might like.

Sportswriter Mike Lupica has started writing young adult sports themed fiction in the past few years. TRAVEL TEAM, SUMMER BALL, THE BIG FIELD, HEAT, and MIRACLE on 49th Street are all male friendly, sports themed books that explore the father/son relationship. Travel Team & Summer Ball explore overcoming obstacles.

A librarian or teacher interested in helping their male students feel motivated to read should check these books out.

message 2: by Barb (new)

Barb Keltner (barbkeltner) | 9 comments Have you read "Deadline" by Chris Crutcher? LOTS of football action but also a tear-jerker, so it will appeal to many types of readers.

message 3: by Barb (new)

Barb Keltner (barbkeltner) | 9 comments If you'd want to pair a nonfiction with your fiction, a good choice might be the new "Our Boys: A Perfect Season on the Plains with the Smith Center Redmen" by Joe Drape. It's been compared to "Friday Night Lights" but shows a town with a more positive type of support.

message 4: by Ms. Graves (new)

Ms. Graves (msgraves-librarian) | 5 comments I agree about Mike Lupica's books. They are very popular at the middle school I work at. Also worth checking out is Tim Green, who has written "Baseball Great", "Football Genius" and "Football Hero". He is a former NFL player for the Falcons.

message 5: by John (new)

John | 10 comments I like all of the ideas that have been listed. I am going to check with my librarian at school to see if she has them.

I have not read Deadline, but I will look for it. I have read Friday Night Lights, but I have not seen Our Boys (I don't really peruse book stores very often). I am also going to see if we have some Tim Green in our library.