On the Southern Literary Trail discussion

General Bookishness > Recommendations

Comments Showing 1-21 of 21 (21 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Palmer (new)

Palmer | 11 comments Hey everybody! I'm fairly new to Goodreads and Southern Gothic literature in general. I was hoping I could get a few suggestions. I recently finished The Devil All The Time By Donald Ray Pollock. Absolutely terrifying and amazing. It might just be my favorite book. I have also started O'Connor's short story collection. I've found quite a lot of similar writers, but none are quite scratching that itch of the grotesque, macabre, and violent. All beautifully written of course.

message 2: by Laura, "The Tall Woman" (new)

Laura | 2276 comments Mod
William Gay Twilight is a must.

Cormac McCarthy Child of God

The Line That Held Us by David Joy (but don't read before reading 2 above mentioned . Will make sense after reading these)

message 3: by Laura, "The Tall Woman" (new)

And you might as well read DRP The Heavenly Table and Tom Franklin Hell at the Breech or at least put on your TBR list.

message 4: by Tim (new)

Tim (tim_taylor) | 11 comments I love Donald Ray Pollock too.
To go along with your request for grotesque, macabre and violent southern gothic suggestions, try A Choir of Ill Children by Tom Piccirilli.
Another of his southern gothic books is November Mourns.

message 5: by Laura, "The Tall Woman" (last edited Aug 31, 2018 08:41AM) (new)

Tim, can I handle these? They look scary! And you're reading the David Joy book. Let me know what you think.

message 6: by Diane, "Miss Scarlett" (new)

Diane Barnes | 4396 comments Mod
Anything by Larry Brown.

message 7: by Tim (last edited Aug 31, 2018 09:55AM) (new)

Tim (tim_taylor) | 11 comments Laura,