Jane Eyre
This topic is about Jane Eyre
Book of the Month > Jane Eyre

Comments Showing 1-40 of 40 (40 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Trinity | 803 comments Mod
Discuss!!

Skye | 364 comments I am ready~
I adore this novel and it was one of the reasons I studied English in college. I have also discovered this book can be read and discussed in many different vogues.

Shainlock  | 686 comments Mod
Here we go! Skye now you are in your element.

Skye | 364 comments It is a very interesting book; in fact, the name Eyre can stand for heir, aire and something else; she actually had the upper hand in all things, despite her meek demeanor, she was definitely not that.

I’m taking notes!

Audible Classics download with Thandie Newton reading. Whoop Whoop! Love her voice and I am excited for this!

Skye | 364 comments Shaina, you are so cute, and I am so glad you have the audible, Trinity.

Skye | 364 comments First of all, Charlotte Bronte used the pen name of Currer Bell due to the time it was written; a female author would never have been taken seriously.. From that point onward, don't be deluded, she creates an amazing protagonist ( probably thumbing her nose at readers) Just the name Jane makes one think of a woman with a meek demeanor.

Carrie Dalby It's been a few years since I read it and won't be able to reread, but there's a lovely synopsis of it in the book The Brontes A to Z: The Essential Reference to Their Lives and Work that I can refresh myself with and weigh in when possible.

message 10: by Skye (new) - rated it 5 stars

Skye | 364 comments Thanks for letting us know, Carrie: it's such a wonderful novel.

Loving this!! Everyone is awesome ! Thinking about the audible now. Glad you told me about it Trinity.

message 12: by Skye (new) - rated it 5 stars

Skye | 364 comments Jane is quite the character, and this book is super fabulous, as well as Emily's Wuthering Heights.