United States Military Book Club discussion

General Discussion > Veterans Who Wnat to Tell Their Stories

Comments Showing 1-16 of 16 (16 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Harry (new)

Harry Rothmann | 19 comments I am a veteran who just wrote a new book on the Vietnam War. This book, and one previously, has enabled me to deal with some of the "issues" that combat and the war left on me. I now feel that the more that we talk about (and write about) our experiences the better off we can be. So I have created a new facebook page https://www.facebook.com/RCIPUBS/) that show how we can share our stories. If you're curious please take a look at the various ways and means there are to tell our stories. Warriors and Fools How America's Leaders Lost the Vietnam War and Why It Still Matters by Harry Rothmann

message 2: by Denise (new)

Denise Gelberg | 23 comments Hi, Harry,
I look forward to reading your book. I was haunted by Tobias Wolff's telling of the experience on the ground in Vietnam. I'd love your opinion on my book, Engagement: A Novel. It tells the story of a young butter bar deployed to Iraq with the 10th Mountain Division's Second Brigade in June of 2004. It also tells the story of the wife left behind at Fort Drum, his parents and sister back home. My goal was to bridge the chasm between military families and those in the civilian world who know almost nothing of their sacrifices. I hope I was successful.
Best,
Denise Gelberg

message 3: by Harry (new)

Harry Rothmann | 19 comments Denise - Thanks for the comment. I think there should be more books about military families who have loved ones deployed abroad and what they go through. Thus, your goal is not only a worthy one, but essential as you indicate.