Support for Indie Authors discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
Archived > Reviews on Amazon

Comments Showing 1-22 of 22 (22 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by [deleted user] (last edited Aug 15, 2018 01:14PM) (new)

Hello. I'm a relatively new author. I'm having trouble figuring out who can and who cannot post reviews for my book on Amazon as well as who I can and cannot post reviews for. I meet authors in these groups. Sometimes we're interested in each other's books. I've been happy to send gift copies for review if asked. And to receive them. Is this no longer something Amazon allows? The free copy? HELP. I'm confused and the folks at the other end of the phone to Amazon, as nice as they usually are, don't really know the answers. Oh, and I already know about the friends and family rule. Thank you.

message 2: by Kaylee (new)

Kaylee Dolat | 91 comments Something I've learned is that Amazon needs to be able to verify these are legitimate reviews on a book. That's either through verified purchases, or people that have little to no connection to you.

From what I've heard from other authors, it hasn't always been this way. Unfortunately, one bad apple spoils the bunch and a lot of people were using fake accounts/emails/or enlisting friends to do the same in order to bump their book up on Amazon.

message 3: by [deleted user] (new)

Kaylee wrote: "Something I've learned is that Amazon needs to be able to verify these are legitimate reviews on a book. That's either through verified purchases, or people that have little to no connection to you..."
Thanks, Kaylee.

message 4: by Angela (new)