Flights of Fantasy discussion

Randomnessosity > Cosplay and Costumes

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by MrsJoseph *grouchy*, Bad Girls Deadlift (new)

MrsJoseph *grouchy* (mrsjoseph) | 5312 comments I need all the help! I decided I'm going to cosplay at an (undetermined) SFF con with my cousin.

I have never done this before, lol. FML

I'm actually having fun figuring some things out...but I haven't a clue where to look for help (or where to look for other things).

So...

This thread is to talk about costuming and cosplaying. And I expect someone named Colleen to pop in with googads of advice and experience... ;-)

message 2: by colleen the convivial curmudgeon, Not a book hipster! (new)

colleen the convivial curmudgeon (blackrose13) | 2976 comments Etsy is a good place to start for customized pieces, if you're not a DIY kind of person.

message 3: by MrsJoseph *grouchy*, Bad Girls Deadlift (new)

MrsJoseph *grouchy* (mrsjoseph) | 5312 comments colleen the convivial curmudgeon wrote: "Etsy is a good place to start for customized pieces, if you're not a DIY kind of person."

Well, that's a good place but...I also need random knowledge:

I want to make scales. I'd planned to do them on my face and body using standard makeup (made waterproof). But I also want a couple of appliances to cover my upper hairline and ears. And I learned standard makeup isn't good for appliances and its recommended I used PAX or make my own PAX. I want to make my own since my scales will be iridescent...

...but I also have to make it match to the body of my costume. So I wanted to use the same colored paints... I'm planning to use Jacquard Lumiere and they (Jacquard) make this pigment powder called Pearl Ex. But it's not a makeup - its a craft - and not recommended for skin. BUT PAX supposedly makes acrylics skin safe so I was wondering if I could put the Pearl Ex into clear/white acrylic and THEN make my PAX?