Navigating Indieworld Discussing All Things Indie discussion

HELP! > Title and blurb help for book 5

Comments Showing 1-19 of 19 (19 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Alex (new)

Alex Carver | 4626 comments Hi, everyone. Since you were a great help with book 4 in my Inspector Stone Mysteries, I'm hoping you will all be willing to help me again now that I am making progress with book 5.

I am looking for help with a blurb and with a title, both of which I am not very good with.

Synopsis

Nathan Stone is on holiday in Devon, where he is joined by his journalist friend, who wants to write a story about some wildcats in the area. While there the hotel owner's wife is murdered, and the next day a storm strikes, flooding the road and cutting the village off from the outside world.

Following a late night break-in to his room Nathan briefly becomes a suspect in the murder when the murder weapon is discovered amongst his belongings.

Before the internet and phone service is lost completely Stone is contacted by his superior and put in charge of the murder investigation as the only detective there.

Hotel owner's wife was having an affair and her lover is later also discovered murdered.

When the killer is identified they escape into the tail end of the storm before having to be rescued from the moors.

Title

I have been trying to establish a theme for the titles of my series, which I would like to continue, using familiar sayings or phrases, so far I have

Book 1 - Where There's A Will

Book 2 - An Eye For An Eye

Book 3 - A Perfect Pose

Book 4 - Into The Fire

Book 5 - ?????

I currently have the following possibilities for the title of book 5, but if anyone has any other suggestions I'd be happy to hear them.

If You Go Into The Woods... (based on 'The Teddy Bear's Picnic')

Busman's Holiday

Working Holiday

A Woman Scorned

The Scorned Woman (I'm not sure about these last 2, they might be considered sexist in the modern climate)