Play Book Tag discussion

There There
This topic is about There There
Archive: Other Books > There There by Tommy Orange - 4 stars

Comments Showing 1-12 of 12 (12 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Ellen | 2137 comments This is the story of twelve people, Native American in different genealogical heritage, who are preparing to attend a huge powwow at the Oakland Coliseum. Some are going for happy reasons: a young boy, self-taught dancer, who will dress in regalia and perform for the first time; a grandmother, who is actually the great aunt, who secretly attends to watch the young boy; a shy man who is meeting his father for the first time; an earnest young woman who planned the event; a man who wants to learn the true stories of the Oakland Indians and record them for a book. Unfortunately there are a few who will attend for another reason: to rob the powwow of a reported $50,000. They will bring undetectable guns into the stadium and take what they want from their own people. We learn the backstories of all 12 people, their births, their struggles and their family, or lack of family, ties. You will not like all 12, but they all play an important role in the story's inevitable outcome.

This is a gritty and disturbing book that describes a culture and lifestyle that many readers will be unfamiliar with. There are a few sections that are non-fiction dealing with the history of the treatment of Native Americans throughout the years. Some of the characters are ambiguous about their heritage while others embrace it every day of their lives. It is difficult yet suspenseful to know where this story will ultimately end up because not all powwow attendees will survive. I was moved by this book and won't forget it for a long time, I'm sure. I recommend it, but be forewarned that it is definitely not a pretty little story.

message 2: by Jeremiah (new) - added it