Play Book Tag discussion

The Design of Everyday Things
This topic is about The Design of Everyday Things
July 2018: Other Books > The Design of Everyday Things by Donald A. Norman - 4 stars

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Amy N. | 256 comments Have you ever pushed a pull door? Flipped the wrong light switch for the thousandth time? Been unable to figure out how to program your VCR? This book explains why, and better, explains why it's not your fault: these things happen because of bad design. That pull door should have had a handle that made you think 'pull', the light switch should be intuitively mapped to the position of the light it controls.

Even though about half the examples in this book are to do with technology that is outdated or no longer exists, the principles are timeless. Even though I'm not a designer of anything, it made me feel better about the times I bumble to figure out how an unfamiliar sink faucet works, and I think since its publication in 1988 it was helped actual designers make better design choices and make our world a little less confusing.

Interesting to note: in the section about computers the author basically predicted Google Calendar and smart phones, which was a trip to read some thirty years on.

message 2: by Cheryl (new) - added it

Cheryl (cherylllr) I want to read something up-to-date like this. Barring that, re-read this. Fascinating subject.

message 3: by KateNZ (new)

KateNZ | 1976 comments So interesting. Mind you, I honestly can’t blame design for a lot of the mistakes I make ... more like absent-mindedness

message 4: by Cheryl (new) - added it

Cheryl (cherylllr) Of course, the best design compensates for us.... Is this the book that pointed out that most doors in public buildings have a vertical pull handle, and a horizontal push bar? *So* intuitive and automatic, at least for me in the US....