The Mystery, Crime, and Thriller Group discussion

Report for Duty > Hello from longtime member and now debut author!

Comments Showing 1-16 of 16 (16 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ellison (last edited Jul 28, 2018 10:58AM) (new)

Ellison Cooper (ellison_cooper) | 9 comments Hello everyone!
So, this account is under my pen name, but I've actually been a lurking member of this group for many years. I've loved the games, recs, and group reads and I figured I should probably finally introduce myself!

I'm a debut author and, obviously, a voracious reader. I'm a recovering academic (former anthropologist/archaeologist) and now a full-time author living in the Bay Area (though longing to move to SoCal one day). I spent many years doing research around the world (mainly mapping and excavating Maya ruins in Belize, but also some work in Micronesia and West Africa). I spent some time working as a murder investigator in Washington DC and I'm a K9 Wilderness Search and Rescue volunteer.

I love any mystery/thriller but am especially drawn to dark crime thrillers that present a slightly "hyper-real" world. For example, I love Jeffery Deaver's Lincoln Rhyme series because, while they are incredibly dark and are always chock full of interesting information about real-world topics, the actual stories are not nitty-gritty realism. Instead, the bad guys are all diabolically brilliant and the heroes are all vaguely superhuman. It's the same reason I love the ever so slightly "hyper-real" work of Lee Child, Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child, Laurie King, the Kellermans, Lisa Gardner, Kathy Reichs, Thomas Harris, and John Sandford. I definitely do not want stark realism while I read about Jack Reacher, ha! I want to watch a juggernaut of pure vengeance in action.