Nothing But Reading Challenges discussion

The Bear and the Nightingale (The Winternight Trilogy, #1)
This topic is about The Bear and the Nightingale
165 views
Previous BRs - Authors; A - D > Arden, Katherine --The Bear and the Nightingale informal buddy reads starts August 8, 2018

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Moderators of NBRC, Challenger-in-Chief (new) - added it

Moderators of NBRC | 31132 comments Mod
This thread is open to discuss The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden



Synopsis
A magical debut novel for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman's myth-rich fantasies, The Bear and the Nightingale spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice.

At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn't mind--she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse's fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon, who appears in the frigid night to claim unwary souls. Wise Russians fear him, her nurse says, and honor the spirits of house and yard and forest that protect their homes from evil.

After Vasilisa's mother dies, her father goes to Moscow and brings home a new wife. Fiercely devout, city-bred, Vasilisa's new stepmother forbids her family from honoring the household spirits. The family acquiesces, but Vasilisa is frightened, sensing that more hinges upon their rituals than anyone knows.

And indeed, crops begin to fail, evil creatures of the forest creep nearer, and misfortune stalks the village. All the while, Vasilisa's stepmother grows ever harsher in her determination to groom her rebellious stepdaughter for either marriage or confinement in a convent.

As danger circles, Vasilisa must defy even the people she loves and call on dangerous gifts she has long concealed--this, in order to protect her family from a threat that seems to have stepped from her nurse's most frightening tales.


message 2: by Moderators of NBRC, Challenger-in-Chief (last edited Jul 26, 2018 06:45PM) (new) - added it

Moderators of NBRC | 31132 comments Mod


      ~ Buddy Style Reads ~
    Three Ways to Enjoy a Book!
At NRBC we use three styles of buddy reads. These will be indicated in the thread title as “Buddy Read”, “Relaxed Buddy Read” or “Informal Buddy Read”.
A “Buddy Read” has a discussion leader and a reading date is set to start the book. A reading schedule is posted prior to the start date and discussion questions are posted each day regarding that section of the book. More information about these types of reads is below. An example is here, showing a reading schedule here.

A “Relaxed Buddy Read” is similar to our usual “buddy reads” except there are less questions and break points. For example, a book may be split into three sections and those reading the book should pause at the end of the section to answer some discussion questions, make comments, or ask their own questions to other readers. An example is here.

An “Informal Buddy Read” doesn’t have a discussion leader and participants are asked to consider some generic questions when making comments about the book. An example is here.

A “Read and Watch Buddy Read” may be set up as any of the above, but we will also watch the movie or T.V. series - or even go to a play! - and make comparisons, discussing what has been left out or changed as well as the actors and actresses. There is a long debate of what one should do first: read the books or watch the movie? We usually read first, but it isn’t essential. Also, if you would like to join in, but don’t want to watch the movie, show, or play, but only read the books, that is fine, too. An example is here.


MORE UNDER SPOILER
(view spoiler)



message 3: by Moderators of NBRC, Challenger-in-Chief (new) - added it

Moderators of NBRC | 31132 comments Mod
res


message 4: by Claire (new) - added it

Claire  | 188 comments I’ll be reding it next week.


message 5: by Devann (new)

Devann (devannm) | 2708 comments anyone still planning on reading this?


Lexi | 2778 comments I'm out until after Quidditch but still want to read after that.


message 7: by Devann (new)

Devann (devannm) | 2708 comments ok, i've got a lot going on now trying to finish preliminary books for triwizard anyway. just let me know later on when you're ready


Lexi | 2778 comments Sounds good


message 9: by Susan (new) - added it

Susan (jazzescrapper) | 1132 comments I just got this and saw this listed as a buddy read. Is this still happening or is it for a later date?


message 10: by Devann (new)

Devann (devannm) | 2708 comments i think we are going to try to pick it up after quidditch ends [is that this weekend?]


back to top

unread topics | mark unread


Books mentioned in this topic

The Bear and the Nightingale (other topics)

Authors mentioned in this topic

Katherine Arden (other topics)