Play Book Tag discussion

Archive: Other Books > The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov / 4 stars

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Meli (new)

Meli (melihooker) | 3148 comments This was for the June magical realism challenge, but it took me 2 months to finish!

The Master and Margarita isn't something I would normally read at this point in my life. I am mainly burning through thrillers, true crime, or literary fiction. But thanks to joining this group, I have really been challenging myself to read other genres and try books that are outside my comfort zone.

The Master and Margarita is like the original gangsta of magical realism before there was magical realism, so it is commonly referred to as surrealist, which essentially is the same thing (I think, I am not an expert).

In case you can't tell by the author's name, this is Russian literature. I was really nervous about following the story due to the names and cultural references I didn't think I would get. But the names are repeated so often it is easy to get them embedded in your brain, and as far as any cultural / societal references of the time (Soviet Russia between 1928-1940 during Stalin's regime), there are notes to help you follow along.

To keep a smooth flow while reading, I tried not to get too hung up on the cultural / historical details. I still learned a lot from the notes, but I think you could learn a lot more if you are willing to research things referenced in this book. Or if you already have a deep understanding of Russian history during that time, all the better for you to enjoy what this book has to offer.