Savage Author Tribe discussion

Writing > 3 Most Influential Books\Series In Your Life

Comments Showing 1-33 of 33 (33 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by BookWarden (last edited Jul 18, 2018 07:53PM) (new)

BookWarden | 40 comments 3: Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini
Inheritance Cycle showed me the world of medieval fantasy. It had dragons and battles and a large world packed with lore. I got hooked on the series and it influenced my early writing. If I had not read Inheritance Cycle early on, I may be a much different writer.

2: Stormlight Archive by Brandon Sanderson.
This one is new to me, but it's shaping the way I think about characters and their issues. I'm studying the way Sanderson deals with his characters, and shapes them using the massive fantasy plot in a giant world that he's created. Everything here feels so authentic and sprawling yet interconnected, with plot twists that are generally shocking and world-altering.

And finally....
1: The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan
My love! I took two years reading this massive series. It's long, it's complex, it's got the best character development I've ever seen (aside from Stormlight Archive) and it just hooked me in a way that nothing else ever has. It shaped how I write now, in everything from character-building, to world-building, to plot flow, to prose. No plot grabbed my attention so much, and no characters have ever (and likely WILL never again) steal so much of my investment.

message 2: by [deleted user] (new)

Why am I not surprised? :D

message 3: by BookWarden (new)

BookWarden | 40 comments Pish posh, lemon sauce! XD

message 4: by [deleted user] (new)

I really don't know how to answer this! It's like asking for your top three favorite stories...

message 5: by BookWarden (new)

BookWarden | 40 comments Then that's how you answer! XD

message 6: by [deleted user] (new)

Oh.

That was easy. :D

message 7: by BookWarden (new)