Beta Reader Group discussion

Critique Partners and Swaps > Beta swap: mine is 80K Urban Fantasy, yours is ?

Comments Showing 1-3 of 3 (3 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Stacy (new)

Stacy | 3 comments I just finished revisions on an 80K urban fantasy/paranormal suspense (paranormal with psychics, one ghost, and a couple of spirits, but no werewolves or vampires :)).

My pitch is still a work in progress: While consulting on a celebrity missing child case, a repressed psychic falls into a trap from her past, finds her long-ago surrendered daughter, and must finally master her talent-- only to be given a terrible choice.

This is a fairly "clean" read in that there's no sex and only a few f-bombs, but the tone is darkish.

I'm a writer and a librarian who enjoys fantasy, character driven sf, mystery, and non-gory, pyschological horror, so I'm happy to read anything of similar length, no promises on epics!

message 2: by Linda (new)

Linda | 1 comments I'd love to swap reads if you're up for it! I have a completed light paranormal mystery. (To be honest, I'm not sure what genre it is, something you could help me with using your librarian superpowers maybe?)

Here's the quick-and-dirty summary: Three government agents work for the Agency of General Equilibrium writing up contracts and filling out paperwork in order to keep the balance between good and evil. A run-of-the-mill case turns into a mess that sends them scrambling to figure out who's behind it all and how to stop them.

It's about 87K words.

Please message me if you're interested. Thanks!

message 3: by Ysobel (new)

Ysobel (ysobelblack) | 7 comments Hello,

I would also be interested in swapping, if you are still looking to do so.

I have a 75k fantasy/historical/sci fi mashup about a girl with sword. Here is the blurb, so you can see if you are interested.