Beta Reader Group discussion

Betas Offering FREE Services > Experienced reader with a few open slots [CLOSED]

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Alan (new)

Alan Ross | 2 comments Hey everybody,

I'm an experienced story analyst and occasionally I have some time to do beta reads, mostly just to keep my storytelling chops in good shape. Any genre is fine.

I do 30,000-foot-view constructive feedback about what it was like to read your work. I don't really get into the advice thing. I don't charge, however:

1.) The work needs to be in beta condition, meaning it's a final draft that needs some fine-tuning or is trying to find its target market. In other words, it's not a round of editing–that's another service. Whether it's proofed or not is up to you, although putting your best foot forward isn't the worst idea.

2.) I strongly believe that manuscripts need to earn the read. If it doesn't grab me or hold my attention, I'll let you know the details. Think of it as having a test run at an agent or editor but from someone who wants you to succeed.

3.) If it's still somewhere in the draft process, I'll probably pass, reason being that it's incredibly difficult to provide useful feedback when the story is still evolving. And very often that can be useful feedback as well.

Just hit me up with a title, word count, genre (what bookstore section it goes in) and logline (your story in 1-2 sentences).

Cheers!

message 2: by Mark (new)