Beta Reader Group discussion

Betas Offering FREE Services > Sci-fi beta reader with nanotech background

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Mark (new)

Mark Ferguson | 4 comments Hello everyone,

I am a published author of science fiction interested in beta reading, primarily for other sci-fi authors. Atop examination of plot consistency and believability of the characters and visualization of a scene, I feel that I can offer something rarer:

I am educated with degrees in nanotechnology (BASc) and electrical/computer engineering (MASc), having been fortunate to get in early at the University of Waterloo's fledgling NE program back in 2007. My background should make me an effective wall for bouncing ideas off of for those who are developing hard (or harder) science fiction, and for those who want their work to be free of scientific/engineering errors.

I respect magic in stories, and the deliberately unexplained, but those wishing for either a general idea or a passage to be made more plausible (or at least de-goofed) with a technical improvement are invited to contact me. I promise to have some intuition about when detail is unnecessary or overwhelming, and I will try to respond in a timely manner.

Regards,

Mark Ferguson

message 2: by Matthew (new)

Matthew Cornell | 2 comments Hello Mark, i am in the process of redrafting the first book of my sci-fi trilogy. It is currently some 160,000 words long and would very much like a second opinion form someone with experience in the field. If you would be willing to give it a read i can email you the first act/chapter of 30,00 words. Hope to hear from you, Matt.

message 3: by Mark (new)

Mark Ferguson | 4 comments Matthew wrote: "Hello Mark, i am in the process of redrafting the first book of my sci-fi trilogy. It is currently some 160,000 words long and would very much like a second opinion form someone with experience in ..."