Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

Book Cover Help > Replacing Placeholder Book Covers

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Audrey's Picture Books (last edited Jul 02, 2018 01:06PM) (new)

Audrey's Picture Books | 28 comments I'm a new librarian, and I thought I'd start by adding cover images for the books I've read that currently have placeholder images. However, I can't figure out how to do it without adding an alternate-cover edition. Where do I go to do this?

The first book I tried to do was On Cat Mountain, by Francoise Richard:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9...

Amazon has a scanned image of the cover for the same ISBN here:
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mountain-F...

But I couldn't find a place to upload the image. Am I doing something wrong? Do I simply not have the permissions to do this?

message 2: by Fábio (new)

Fábio Nogueira (fnogueira) Done!

message 3: by rivka, Librarian Moderator (new)

rivka | 45460 comments Mod
To become a librarian, you have to apply for that status and be approved. Everyone is welcome to join this group, but doing so doesn't make you a librarian.

Carol She's So Novel꧁꧂  | 5873 comments Audrey's Picture Books wrote: "I'm a new librarian, and I thought I'd start by adding cover images for the books I've read that currently have placeholder images. However, I can't figure out how to do it without adding an altern..."

Hi Audrey - to change or add covers you need to be a Goodreads Librarian. This is a volunteer job.

To apply you go here https://www.goodreads.com/help/librarian. It is a good idea to read the Manual while you wait to see if your application is accepted.

I've been told the reasons you give for wanting to be a Librarian are important, so give a lot of thought to that section. Also mention any foreign languages you speak.

Good luck! :)

message 5: by Audrey's Picture Books (last edited Jul 02, 2018 01:20PM) (new)