Beta Reader Group discussion

Authors Seeking FREE Betas > Looking for a Beta/Alpha reader for my 83K word YA Fantasy novel

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Christopher (new)

Christopher Lyons | 2 comments Hello Beta readers of the world. Come all ye faithful and see what is in store for you. Hit the author with an assortment of rotten vegetables. Four throws for a single shilling!

I'm a new author who is way past his prime. I have very little formal writing experience, and I am more broke than a twelfth century peasant.

The book I present to you is of more an alpha stage rather than beta. I consider it somewhere in between. I have done some light editing and spellchecking but that is about it. I am looking for a view on the plot (is it boring?), is the structure sound (why is it like this? what were you thinking!?), and character development (wow he's bland, why do they all sound like that?). This draft has little to no formatting. I want to know what feels like it doesn't work. Everything from start to finish has a budget of approximately $0 because I have to be more concerned with food on the table for my family than anything else :)

I wanted to start off with a more simplistic writing style in a genre I enjoy. Keeping my vocabulary around middle/early high school level (because frankly mine isn't much higher than that). I'm especially worried about the characters. It's somewhat difficult to channel my inner 18 year old cheerleader as a 35 year old male. I worry some of my own personality seeps in and may ruin the characters. But hey, lets hope I'm wrong! So without further ado, here is a brief intro massive background explosions