Retro Reads discussion

General > Help needed from Jane Aiken Hodge fans

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Carol She's So Novel꧁꧂ , Moderator (new)

Carol She's So Novel꧁꧂  | 1736 comments Mod
I'm a Librarian on GR, & I need help from someone who has read Aiken Hodge extensively.

Yesterday I got a like on an old review of mine of Runaway Bride. When I checked the review, I was surprised that it was now part of a series, as I remember it as a standalone.

https://www.goodreads.com/series/2190...

In particular Book 4 doesn't look to be anything to do with the other books.

& while I don't remember Jenny's surname in Book 5, this book was set in England not the States!

Anyone able to help? :)

message 2: by Lesley (last edited Jun 30, 2018 02:42PM) (new)

Lesley | 163 comments Carol ꧁꧂ wrote: "I'm a Librarian on GR, & I need help from someone who has read Aiken Hodge extensively.

Yesterday I got a like on an old review of mine of Runaway Bride. When I checked the review, I was surprised..."

I remember Jane Aiken Hodge writing only one series. That was Lissenberg and comprised three books. All the rest of the fiction novels she wrote were standalone.

I would dispute the Purchas Family as shown on GR is a series for several reasons.
Book 1 Judas Flowering was published in 1976
Book 2 Wide is the Water was published in 1978 and is about Hart Purchis marrying Mercy Phillips ... so could be related, but not an official series (cataloguer coming out here :))
Book 3 Savannah Purchase was published in 1970 and had an alternate title of All for Love
Book 4 The Lost Garden was published in 1982
Book 5 The Runaway Bride was published in 1978 Jenny's surname was Purchas. Where in the earlier two Ms Hodge spelled the name as Purchis.