SciFi and Fantasy Book Club discussion

TV and Movie Chat > Anime Recommendations

Comments Showing 1-28 of 28 (28 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Bobby (new)

Bobby | 869 comments I used to watch just a few Anime series when I was younger. Recently, I decided I wanted to get back into it, so I got a subscription to Funimation. I only really watched Dragon Ball Z, part of Dragon Ball, and Yu Yu Hakusho when I was into it. I went ahead and started Dragon Ball, and I'm enjoying the nostalgia. Then I plan to re-watch Dragon Ball Z and start in on Dragon Ball Super.

The reason for the post is I'd like some recommendations for some more recent Anime that might have some of the things I loved about the old ones I used to watch. I'm looking for something with over the top fighting and powers. Humor is always good, but I don't mind something serious. I love the tournaments of Dragon Ball Z and Yu Yu Hakusho, so anything similar would be good.

I only watched the few shows I mentioned, so I'm sure there are tons of famous and popular series out there that I've never heard of. Any suggestions will be appreciated.

message 2: by Allison, Fairy Mod-mother (new)

Allison Hurd | 13043 comments Mod
COWBOY BEBOP! It's classic, and gets better as it goes. Not too long, like Bleach or Full Metal Alchemist (which are also worth checking out, but RIP your free time. I also am sort of meh about them)

People love Ghost in the Shell and Appleseed.

I personally really love (Seirei no) Moribito--absolutely stunning art.

And I have a huge weak spot for Darker than Black, which I believe is back on Netflix?

message 3: by Jacqueline (new)

Jacqueline | 2306 comments I’ve always had a soft spot for Sailor Moon....

message 4: by Noor (new)

Noor Al-Shanti | 52 comments Naruto and HunterxHunter both have fighting and cool powers.

message 5: by Phillip (new)

Phillip Murrell | 582 comments Ranma 1/2 was one of my first anime series; I still love it.