The American Civil War discussion

General Discussion > Civil War trivia

Comments Showing 1-30 of 30 (30 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ted (new)

Ted (efcorson) | 4 comments Hello, I'm a newbie. Care to play?

message 2: by Ted (new)

Ted (efcorson) | 4 comments What military command was given U. S. Grant at the start of the Civil War?

message 3: by James (new)

James | 25 comments Grant, Ulysses S.
21st Regiment, Illinois Infantry

message 4: by George (new)

George | 91 comments what was Sherman's position when the war broke out?

message 5: by James (last edited Oct 03, 2009 07:14AM) (new)

James | 25 comments George wrote: "what was Sherman's position when the war broke out?"

He started out as a Colonel of the 13th Regular Infantry which was routed at Bull Run.

message 6: by George (new)

George | 91 comments true, but when the war actually broke out, he wasn't in the military. so, what was he doing?

message 7: by James (new)

James | 25 comments On April 1, 1861 Sherman moved his family to St. Louis and became the President of the Fifth Street Railroad. Eleven days later Fort Sumter was attacked.

message 8: by George (new)

George | 91 comments very good, and just prior to that, he was head of the Lousiana military academy, which eventually morphed into Louisiana State University, or if you like president of LSU.

message 9: by Ted (new)

Ted (efcorson) | 4 comments Hello.. i'm a newbie. So here's an easy one.

What famous diarist described people sitting on balconies and drinking salutes to the start of the hostilities?

message 10: by George (new)

George | 91 comments Mary Chesnut?

message 11: by Ted (new)

Ted (efcorson) | 4 comments George wrote: "Mary Chesnut?"

Yes, you're right.

message 12: by Sean (new)

Sean McLachlan | 17 comments Which famous Western lawman (and two of his brothers) fought in Illinois regiments? Answer on my blog post (but try to guess first, and no peeking at the URL!):