Play Book Tag discussion

The Temple of the Golden Pavilion
This topic is about The Temple of the Golden Pavilion
Archive: Other Books > The temple of the golden pavilion | Yukio Mishima | 4-5 stars

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Idit | 1028 comments A bit of modern Japan history: In 1950, a young buddhist monk burnt the golden pavilion temple in Kyoto. He stated his hatred for everything beautiful as the cause for his action.
This seems even more dramatic when you think that US refrained from bombing Kyoto because of all those ancient temples (I think)

Yukio Mishima wrote a beautiful book, that very plausibly invites us to the mind of that monk, exploring his actions, but mainly his thoughts and feelings. Not a lot happens, but for me it felt quite busy. Maybe because I have zero knowledge of zen buddhism, and am not used to very philosophical literature - a lot of thinking was involved. Or maybe because his mind is not a serene place.

The main motifs of this book are beauty, alienation, temporary vs eternal, weakness vs strength, and using an act of violence to bring back balance, and a beautiful and detailed descriptions of inner turmoil

According to him beauty is in the temporary and changing, and the temple has been standing for hundreds of years, and its existence disrupts beauty

It is a very aesthetic novel. Both the visuals in the scenes described and the prose itself

He revisits few points and develops on themes in a way that I enjoyed.
A zen story that the temple superior tells the night after japan lost wwii is then explored from a different angles by Mizoguchi’s friend. A scene of farewell and an exposed breast keeps coming in an almost rashomon way. A red coat in the snow. A woman that died.

It is a very beautiful book.