Better Book Clubs discussion

Introduce Yourself!

Comments Showing 1-19 of 19 (19 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kathy (new)

Kathy (klzeepsbcglobalnet) | 43 comments Mod
Hi, Everybody.
I'm Kathy Leonard Czepiel, and I'll be moderating our discussion. I visited about 2 dozen book clubs to talk about my novel A Violet Season when it came out in 2012, and one thing I learned is that I love visiting book clubs! As a college writing professor, I have a lot of ideas to share as well. One of them is promoting the classics as great choices for your book club to read. I hope you'll enjoy this discussion so much that you'll try another classic on your own!

message 2: by Valerie (new)

Valerie Richardson | 2 comments Hi, Valerie Richardson checking in.

I have to confess that I read Middlemarch as a much younger person and didn't like it. When I think of the book, my mental image is of darkness. I'll be interested to re-visit it now that I'm much older and probably have a lot more dark experiences notched on my belt.

Thanks for doing this, Kathy!

message 3: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer | 5 comments Jennifer Bailey here. I’ve never read Middlemarch, but I have read many other classics and really enjoyed them. I will be on vacation during part of this, but I’ll try to keep up the best I can during those weeks. This is a great idea.

message 4: by Kathy (new)

Valerie wrote: "Hi, Valerie Richardson checking in.

I have to confess that I read Middlemarch as a much younger person and didn't like it. When I think of the book, my mental image is of darkness. I'll be interes..."

Hi, Valerie! I'm excited you're going to read with us!

message 5: by Kathy (new)

Jennifer wrote: "Jennifer Bailey here. I’ve never read Middlemarch, but I have read many other classics and really enjoyed them. I will be on vacation during part of this, but I’ll try to keep up the best I can dur..."