The Catholic Book Club discussion

Sword and Serpent > 5. Christian persecution

Comments Showing 1-20 of 20 (20 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Manuel (new)

Manuel Alfonseca | 1630 comments Mod
What do you think of the way the persecution against Christians in Diocletian time is described? Is it true to history?

message 2: by Fonch (new)

Fonch | 1443 comments I have the impression that the climate of hate is very real, and it is a hard work for the part of the autor. Now we are in a very close situtation in the muslim countries, and in comunist countries, and in the western countries we are not pursued, but we are rejected and the politicians fight against the catholic religión. For me it is one of the strong points of the novel.

message 3: by John (new)

John Seymour | 1968 comments Mod
I am not an expert on the Diocletian persecution by any means, but from what I have read of it, the book is fairly accurate in the way it portrays the start of the persecution. I assume this becomes a more intense part of the story as the trilogy progresses. What was interesting to me was the idea that Marshall conveyed that the Diocletian persecution is not so much a new thing, but an intensification of existing background persecution. For example, having Jurian and Mariam's father murdered by his own legion for refusing to sacrifice to the gods before a battle.

message 4: by Manuel (last edited Jun 05, 2018 03:50AM) (new)

I think that the persecution against Christians at the time of the novel is somewhat exaggerated. Roman Law was the best legacy the Roman Empire gave to the future. Killing people in their homes or in the street without a trial, as described in chapters 7 and 27 would be unthinkable. Also, the martyrdom of Ayzebel in chapter 22 is little credible, for the authorities wouldn't have been interested in a slave girl.