Sci-fi and Heroic Fantasy discussion

Horses and Farms For Fiction Writers
Promotions & Advertisements > Horses and Farms For Fiction Writers

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jim (new) - added it

Jim (jimmaclachlan) | 2283 comments I'm a farmer and horseman with a life-long love of fiction, but all too often it’s obvious that an author has relied on movies for their information about horses and farms. Hollywood has dubbed in the sounds of squealing car wheels on gravel roads and they tend to handle horses and farms even more poorly. Books rely on my knowledge and imagination, so these errors are far more glaring.

I wrote this to give authors some insight into the intimate details of horses and life on a farm so that they can write better for me. I've tried to be completely honest. Some of what I’ll relate is gross, explicit, and may even horrify you, but it is part of everyday life for horsemen and other farmers that I know.

It's available on Amazon or Smashwords in various ebook formats only since it contains a lot of hyperlinks to relatively safe sites (Wikipedia & such) for further exploration.

message 2: by Bobby (new)

Bobby Bermea (beirutwedding) | 412 comments No kidding? NEAT, Jim! Did you read The Sport of Kings? How'd she do?

message 3: by Jim (new) - added it

Jim (jimmaclachlan) | 2283 comments There are several, but I have not read any of them. Some authors do fine since they have horses. Dick Francis was a jockey, so his murder mysteries portray the British racing scene well. Clare O'Beara, Janny Wurts, & Catharina Marcus are all fine horsewomen & write like it. Even David Eddings isn't too bad, although he skirts my limits of hyperbole with Faran. At least pays attention to the horses & makes them out to be the characters they often are.