The Seasonal Reading Challenge discussion

TASK HELP: Summer Challenge 2018 > 20.8 - Nickels & Dimes - Sara G's Task: Florida

Comments Showing 1-44 of 44 (44 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by SRC Moderator (last edited Jun 04, 2018 02:29AM) (new)

SRC Moderator | 5332 comments Mod
20,8 - Nickels and Dimes - Sara G's Task: Florida

For this task, read one book that fulfills one of the options below. REQUIRED: Please state which option you chose when posting your completed task.

My home town is at the beach in Florida. It's fun to travel, but I love living here! Since this is my first time creating a task for the SRC and it's summer, I thought my home would be the perfect theme. Choose one of the following options:

Option A: Emerald Coast
I live in northwest Florida and our beaches are colloquially called the Emerald Coast, after the color of the water in the Gulf of Mexico here. Read a book with a cover that is predominantly green (at least 50%). REQUIRED: Include the cover in your post.
Examples:
These work - Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer The Awakening by Kate Chopin I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith Linger (The Wolves of Mercy Falls, #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

Not green enough: Hex Hall (Hex Hall, #1) by Rachel Hawkins - only the dress is green, not 50% of cover; The Lemoncholy Life of Annie Aster by Scott Wilbanks - mostly yellow, less than 50% green; Confederates in the Attic Dispatches from the Unfinished Civil War by Tony Horwitz - the green isn't 50% of cover.

Option B: Air Conditioning
The heat and humidity here can be brutal in the summer, so it's no surprise that Florida didn't become a populous state until air conditioning became widely available. Read a book by a single author whose initials can be found in the phrase AIR CONDITIONING. Middle names/initials can be ignored.

Option C: Hurricanes